53 Signed Copy of Australian Family Saga: Fiona Palmer

ITEM: A signed copy of The Family Farm by Australian author Fiona Palmer.  

 

DETAILS:

The Family Farm… Isabelle Simpson longs to take over the family farm, but her ailing father is locked in a tragedy of the past and won’t give her the chance she deserves. The stand-off between them threatens to tear the family apart. Izzy decides to break free and make a new start for herself – even though that means leaving the handsome Will Timmins and all her mixed emotions about him behind. But when hardship falls on the farm again, Izzy returns with an even greater determination to resolve the family feud. As she gathers with her friends in the close community under the shade of the gum-tree tavern, confessions are made, long-held secrets are revealed and hearts are set free. Set under the blazing blue skies and in the golden wheatfields of Western Australia, this is a colourful story of family life on the land, and a heartwarming romance about finding true love and following your dreams.

 

CV: I was raised in Pingaring. My Dad and Mum are contractors in town who cart grain, spread fertiliser and spray for the farmers.

The majority of my childhood weekends were spent on my Uncle and Aunty’s farm ‘Gumlea’ with my two cousins Tammy and Sandy, and my younger brother Chad.

We attended the Pingaring Primary School which closed its doors a few years later because of small numbers. I went off to Narrogin High School where I boarded at the Narrogin Residential College. I left school after year eleven, itching to start work and begin my life.

I was a third generation speedway driver, racing cars from the age of 16 right up until I was pregnant with my first child. I didn’t move too far away from my parents, as my Dad was a mechanic and also raced speedway.

After doing odd jobs, rouseabouting, tractor driving and working on the CBH bins, where I met my husband-to-be, I went to Alexander College for a secretarial course. (Luckily they taught me how to type really fast, which comes in handy when typing up long stories)

I got a job at the Shire of Lake Grace as a secretary for three years and then changed to a Teachers Assistant before getting married to my husband Darryl and having my daughter Mackenzie and my son, Blake.

It was while running the local shop in Pingaring in 2006, in a partnership with my Mum, that I began writing down a story that was roaming around in my head. Lo and behold, this was the start of my writing career. The Family Farm is my first book and my second, Heart of Gold will be released on 28 Feb 2011.

See Fiona’s website.

 

 

 

 

 

Please bid in the comment box below.

 

Comments are closed, but you can leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Meryl Harris  On 20/01/2011 at 6:21 pm

    $20
    (It’s showing this has one bid already but I can’t see it. I’ll see how this goes)

  • Jenny Smith  On 21/01/2011 at 8:15 pm

    $25.00 Looks like a book I would enjoy reading!

  • Meryl Harris  On 23/01/2011 at 11:11 pm

    $27

Trackbacks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

