37 Signed Copy of Mosquito Advertising (middle reader): Kate Hunter

ITEM: a signed copy of the middle reader novel Mosquito Advertising: The Parfizz Pitch, by Kate Hunter 

 

DETAILS:

Katie Crisp has talent, it’s just that the report card hidden in her room doesn’t show it. School’s out for another year and Katie is set to spend the summer lazing under the sausage tree in the backyard of the only home she’s ever known. So, when she discovers that Parfitt’s Family Soft Drink Company is about to be taken over by a corporate giant, leaving her mum out of a job and them both out of a home, it’s time to finally show everyone what she’s made of.

With her nose for trouble and her eye for advertising, and a little help from some neighbourhood friends, Katie declares Mosquito Advertising open for business.
Pocket money and creative thinking can stretch a long way when everything that means anything to you is about to be destroyed. (Published June 2010)

 

CV: (How Kate got published…)

“The idea for an average person’s advertising agency had been percolating in one form or another for years. I actually devised a TV show in 2002 called Any Idiot that explored the concept of average people making TV ads. The Seven Network took an option and shot a pilot, but in the end decided it wasn’t strong enough to make a show.

A few years later I tweaked that idea and made it a kids’ agency. I started writing it as a novel.

About 10,000 words into it, I had a confidence crisis and wondered if I was wasting my time. I Googled one of my favourite writers, who I had never met but seemed nice from the tone of her books and the column she writes. I told her the idea and said something like ‘I don’t know if it’s worth finishing – should I do a course? Join a club?’

As luck would have it, this particular (and very generous) writer said she liked the premise and would be happy to read a few chapters. I sent them to her and she said they weren’t complete crap and she would pass them on to her publishers at University of Queensland Press.

They became my publisher too. Then all I had to do was finish the book …”

 

See Kate’s website.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please bid in the comments box below.

Comments are closed, but you can leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kylie L  On 17/01/2011 at 6:40 pm

    I gave one to my son, but now I want one for myself. $20 to start the bidding.

  • Erica  On 17/01/2011 at 8:11 pm

    I was going to buy this anyway. Better to support the cause – $22

  • Milly  On 18/01/2011 at 7:04 am

    $10 for every member in the family who wants to read it so $50 in total!

  • Rem Bruijn  On 18/01/2011 at 7:28 am

    I borrowed Kate Watson instead of buying one. Oops! So put me down for $200

  • Milly  On 18/01/2011 at 2:31 pm

    If each family member can have their name signed in the book happy to go to $300!

  • Will  On 23/01/2011 at 11:20 pm

    Will double Milly’s offer – let’s go to $600

Trackbacks

